Stages of Shock - Why this site ?

  1. Homepage
  2. Why this site?
  3. References for this site
  4. Stage 1: Pre-Shock Anticipation
  5. Stage 2: Pre-shock Slide
  6. Stage 3: Compensated shock
  7. Stage 4: Decompensated shock, but reversible
  8. Stage 5: Decompensated shock, but irreversible.
  9. Vicious cycles
  10. S.I.R.S.
  11. Shock Combo
  12. Microvascular Complications of severe shock
  13. Geneva Handshake
  14. EGDT
  15. Normotensive and Hypertensive (cryptic) Shocks
  16. contact



Classically, shock is described in 3 stages (the last 3 of our classification). But I created this site to try to remind everyone interested that if you diagnose shock early, everyone will feel better: from patient, to treating staff, hospital administration and even health insurances carriers.

I also created this site because I have seen too many physicians (including myself) "miss the boat" with their patients (reacting way, way, WAY, WAY too late), I started to view shock as a progressive and accelerating slide (a continuum)... a slide that starts with a local condition that ends up systemic and ultimately complicated by shock if left undiagnosed and untreated (nothing that you did no know already).

If one wants to take this approach of anticipating and detecting the drift toward shock (so that you can stop it), I now often work with this new paradigm of seeing shock in 5 stages instead of only three (2 stages of pre-shock and 3 stages of actual shock). In this new classification (not accepted by anyone right now, I must divulge) there might be opportunities to diagnose and treat patients much earlier and prevent shock altogether, or even correct shock when it is at an earlier stage. You (and your patients) will feel great to have stopped the slide early on. And you will save a lot of money to insurance carriers and hospitals.

This site was also created because of my mentoring from two of my teachers who created what I consider "the Book of Secrets in Medicine" - a unique book that contains general and fundamental mechanisms of cellular changes leading to explanations of tissue changes and diseases (see references for this site). And also because of the pathetic lack of any useful discussion regarding various types of shocks in MAJOR, multi-authored, cardiology textbooks (an omission that I consider detrimental to our treating staff and therefore patients).

(Note: some might critique these "new" stages 1 and 2 because patients are not in shock yet. I do not consider this as a good critique because our classification is similar to stage I and II of the NYHA Heart Failure classification. In NYHA Heart Failure stage I, patients may actually not be in heart failure at rest...)

Click here to proceed to stage 1



Case diameter of 43 mm 18K rose gold to swiss replica watches create the case, through the anti-glare anti-wear sapphire crystal glass mirror, they clearly see the black dial with two replica watches hand-painted dolls. Peacock will be every hour, half an hour or when the wearer presses the button to move, or by the wearer to push the button at 4 o'clock, the fake rolex watch will be accurate timekeeping, and By pressing the button at fake rolex watches two o'clock position, you can release the function, fully embodies the advanced complex functions of mechanical time scale.